Anonymous
map-marker Phoenix, Arizona

No one has gotten back to me yet!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Im being charged by OfferUp $19.99 on April 7th, for what? I sold my car in January 2023 and have never used OfferUp since then. Apple sent me a receipt.
View full review
Ronita Cxe

Why can't I sell from my computer?

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

OfferUp doesn't let me sell things using my computer. They only allow me to use my *** smart phone!

I don't want that *** on my phone! Why don't they let me sell stuff using my computer, the way I do everything else in the world? This is so damned frustrating!!!!! And they have ZERO help available, no way to reach a human.

So you are just stuck in their limbo forever. Are they trying to get an App on my phone that does other things?

Are they snooping my contacts and messages? Why do I have to use an "App" to do this?

View full review
Cons:
  • No help
  • Cant use the computer
Reason of review:
Poor customer service

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

278 comments
Guest

I couldn’t find my delivery is almost 3 months she charge me $56.84 for AiriPhone

Vily D

would like to contact the administration of the OfferUp company and those who monitor the site, if any rules are violated. I like to buy and sell on your site, but for some a reason I don't understand, my account was a terminated.

-I think there are envious people who write some complaints, or something to the site administration, so that you close your account. I know that I did not do anything Against the rules, Offer Up site. I'm familiar with the rules, but anyway my account was closed.. I'm very upset because I've been on eBay for over 18 years and have no problems with the administration, not with clients.

The way you act, it humiliates the person and leads to depression. Before closing an account, you must notify and explain what the member has done against the rules. You should have special lessons that provide information about the correct bargaining and buying on the site. The seller spends a lot of time to exhibit their products and have the confidence and interest of the buyer, and in one moment you destroy all our work.

-This is not correct, and this behavior is not acceptable in a normal business society. -Also you should give a chance to the seller and the buyer to rehabilitate at least once or twice, after the account is closed.

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Vily D

bla

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Vily D

So you want a Kindergarten for business ?

Michele Is Frustrated
reply icon Replying to comment of Vily D

I am currently dealing with the same nonsense. I am writing letters to the executives within the company now and will be referencing your post.

Guest

I agree. That is friggin lame.

I can post better ads and do it faster from my computer. 1 Star is all they get.

Lola L Rug
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-2076075

www.ask.offerup.com ...well, my Samsung cell phone is too old to upload the OfferUp app. So, I went onto YouTube, to see if there was a workaround for my desktop; found that & applied the workaround to my desktop.

Got set up; downloaded pictures and descriptions of my items and waited...I was asked to "try" TruYou to further establish my identity, but I just wanted these sales exchanges to be local and with cash, and with as little data exchange/recognition as possible, for safety reasons. Yesterday, I received an email about my OfferUp account that I have to fill out the TruYou verification (to prove that I am not a bot, acc. to a fellow OfferUp person, doing sales); otherwise, my listings will stay in the "archived" area & no one will be able to view them. So, I hit the TruYou link and imm.

run into a roadblock b/c I cannot use my desktop to "scan" a picture of me...my desktop has no built-in camera, nor do we own a webcam. I could use my Samsung phone...it has a built-in camera, but, again, it's too old to upload the OfferUp app (and TruYou, concurrently)...hence, my using the desktop, in the first place. So, I make images of all of my notifications, my replies to the notifications and send an email to "support" who tell me to shut down and restart/reboot my account (which accomplishes nothing, b/c I'm still right back where I started). If that doesn't help, to "contact support." This time, I Google and find a support phone number (1-844-633-****)...which gives me a newish email link: www.ask.offerup.com And, nothing else.

I Google, again, and find another support phone number, though it warns me upon calling that this number may not be set up any longer for its original purpose. Well, I take a chance and call; and I am asked to hit buttons for free prizes...? But, nothing else. I am now composing a 2nd email w/same attachments and updates, to www.ask.offerup.com.

Not feeling very hopeful & am looking for a workaround to the facial scan...LOL, I took a previous one in January for my IRS client account...maybe I can substitute that on TruYou...? Stay tuned...

P.S. UPDATE: the email address www.ask.offerup.com did not go anywhere...my email service stated in the recipient link that it was "non existent/not supported"...

Lyla Mvt

Completely agreed. Ridiculous you can't use the PC to post but ONLY the app

Guest

I wanted to sell on offer up, sure do miss let go. But all they want you to do is install the app., why?

I don't have enough to upload that app. I only wanted to sell some stuff. Why make it so difficult. Not sure.

But, you know I would never sell on offer up after all this.

I sure do miss Let Go, It was so easy. Bet, they wish they never purchased let go, Offer up sucks the big one!

Guest

I guess the fact that I don't understand the point of limiting sellers to posting via their smartphone is evidence that I'm ancient or something. There are other platforms that allow the poster to decide whether to use a PC, laptop, tablet or phone.

This seems much more democratic. OfferUp's approach is very strange to me.

View more comments (277)
Yvonna Ngn
map-marker Glendale, California

Its a great app, but its not working anymore.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

So I've been using offerup for about 6 or so months and just within the last month it has stopped allowing me to send or receive messages. I have made two or three different accounts yet they all do the same thing even after I verify the emails for each account.

It will let me search every type of item and find them and I can technically "send" a message but it does not send. I sent a message on the app to my friend but he did not receive it and still has not.

I just hope that they fix it. This has also happened to my fiance but not her mother or anyone else I know.

View full review
Pros:
  • It when the app worked
Cons:
  • That it started to screw up
Reason of review:
The app worked flawlessly prior to this happening.
650 comments
Guest

I have the same issue with the app

Guest

offer up has not been working for the last 3 days does anyone know if this is going to be fixed, seems like since they merged with letgo its all gone downhill

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-1925023

I have the same problems

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-1925023

I'm trying to reach a seller I had messaged before the merge and update on OfferUp, and it seems she isn't seeing my messages as it doesn't show the two white check marks. It looks like the seller has uploaded new things, but no response to messages or offers or even showing read. Idk what is going on, but I need to get ahold of the seller.

Guest

Same problem they will response any our msg no point I have did the same I created so many acct n also try change my phone n WiFi n new number It’s like a ghost keep rejecting n whenever I login it’s ERRORS

Guest

i cant get ANYONE TO CONTACT ME AT ALL> I CANNOT SEND ANY TEXT MESSAGES UNDER ASK A QUESTION BOX>>>SO I CANT COMMUNICATE WITH ANY SELLER>>> NO ONE WILL ANSWER FROM OFFER-UP to help me steve

Guest

Offer up does not work

Bridger Bzc

I have recently as of last night just experienced the exact same thing it's deleted all of my posting that I had up for sale I also cannot message anybody and have them receive it I've done new accounts gone to old accounts and it won't verify anything keeps saying network error are some other baloney crap

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Bridger Bzc

same here deleted my items and now on posting item network error. confirmed all other apps on my alcatel phone work.

Guest

This means that they have blocked you from using the app.... Usually they do this when you have violated terms of service, your account is suspicious to OfferUp administrators, OR most commonly it means people have reported you.

View more comments (649)
Lester V Czj

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Item was advertised as New, but was Used piece of Junk!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I traveled 110 miles round trip to get this tile saw + Gas + $7.00 in tolls on a Leased Car & she want me to drive it back for a refund or exchange. I believe that Law Enforcement could consider this Fraud. Ive tried to work something out with her, but obviously she doesnt care, she should be thrown off OfferUp!
View full review
Loss:
$75
Cons:
  • Not a reputable seller

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Think about a Dozen times before buying here

Jus B Zzr

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Account disabled alleged community guidelines violation

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
OfferUp - Account disabled alleged community guidelines violation
Updated by user Apr 05, 2024

Still no human response/contact

Original review Apr 05, 2024
Had my account falsely disabled without merit, without any explanation as I have reported users who missed meetings, were no shows, rude, never responds, after guaranteeing/promising to wait for me knowing I was traveling over 100 miles, kept in contact, and users still sold vehicles as I was in route. Offer up allows companies to falsey advertise (allegedly prohibited), make several/multiple ads for the same service (again prohibited), users and businesses to falsely advertise for one price, example $1/free, when this is not true at all (again supposed to go against policy/terms), users who never respond, ect.

Yet, when I as a user, report these users and incidents, I get my account disabled, and Im not able to successfully look for vehicles for myself/family. Everything I reported, happened. I want my account reinstated as it shouldn't have been disabled. This is discriminatory/violates my civil and disability rights, and its favortism.

I want corporate headquarters information and the legal dept. I also want a copy of all interactions/reports for my record. Penalized for using a report feauture after I was repeatedly victimized, bamboozled, scammed, had my time wasted and lied to. I will not start a new account (looks suspicious) and I have had my account for years with a good rating.

Not my fault that usets who pay/non paying users are rude liars but somehow offer up caters to these users. Without access to your account, theres no record of what took place, offer up does this on purpose to prevent proof if what occurred.
View full review
Loss:
$150
Pros:
  • Convenience
Cons:
  • Scammers running rampant
  • Bias
  • Discriminatory

Preferred solution: My account reinstated, refund for wasting gas as users guaranteed/promised to wait for me but schemishly did not and sold vehicles while I was in route/kept in contact.

User's recommendation: Use wirh caution, if you get scammed or report activity, your account might get disabled, especially if users are paying offer up users and or have an account that sells alot

Resolved
Shayana Gwc

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Syracuse, New York

Resolved: Offer up is with holding my money.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
OfferUp - Offer up is with holding my money.
Updated by user Mar 04, 2024

Nothing has changed. Offer up still refuses to look for my money.

My bank had me ask for a tracking number or any proof that a deposit was sent out but how could there be when it still shows on Offer Up's receipt page that no deposit was sent out. Their customer support simply doesn't exist or doesn't bother to verify what they did with the money that they collected from my completed shipment.

Original review Feb 26, 2024
I sold an item on offer up in January 2023. I mailed the item to the recipient and waited for my payment from Offer up. They notified me on January 20 that payment was approved but I needed to add a deposit account to receive that payment. They claim that the paid my bank even though their system still does not accept my deposit account. After 5 email requests. The still insist that they somehow sent money without ever receiving a deposit account that they have used correctly. So my money has not been paid to me.
View full review
Loss:
$30
Cons:
  • No seller protection policy

Preferred solution: The money from the sale of my merchandise.

User's recommendation: Be careful depending on Offer up to maintain a quality financial processing system.

Brandy D Xna

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Payment not received

OfferUp - Payment not received
OfferUp - Payment not received - Image 2
Not received payment will not let me login to my email on file want allow me to login to my account so I can but my account to put in a deposit account number fir me to receive my payment
View full review
Loss:
$75
Pros:
  • Sketchy

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Read the everything

Michael W Bnz

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Lost money

OfferUp - Lost money
OfferUp - Lost money - Image 2
OfferUp - Lost money - Image 3
OfferUp - Lost money - Image 4
OfferUp - Lost money - Image 5
Updated by user Mar 15, 2024

Offerup has not or even tried to help after I showed them the bike they keep posting forsale

Original review Mar 15, 2024
I lost 1200 on a motorcycle that offerup keep posting and I don't no how to get my money back I have all the emails from the person selling the bike and emails from offerup asking for another 350
View full review
Loss:
$1200

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Don't buy frome offerup contract you don't get your money back

Antonio H Rev

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Scammed

Every time the person try to lie and say that I tried to scam him Ill pull up a message that shows that he is lying. It is clear as day. I have a two day petition. The item is not real and they dont wanna refund me my money. This is not right beg him to refund my money because I hit Pont, my real Necklace that I had just got to buy this I told him in the messages. I am scared to do that because I always get scammed. Everything is in black-and-white. It looks like theyre not reading.
View full review
Loss:
$1314

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: I will not be doing no more business with offer up or let go they do not guarantee your money back when clear as day they have purchased two day warranty guarantee will not granite

Ahmed A Bxv

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Fraud

OfferUp - Fraud
OfferUp - Fraud - Image 2
OfferUp - Fraud - Image 3
OfferUp - Fraud - Image 4
OfferUp - Fraud - Image 5
OfferUp - Fraud - Image 6
Ive purchased an item and paid for it. It was supposed to be shipped 3days ago, I asked the seller for a update on the item and they said that they sold the item in a different platform. I would like a refund. It seems like a scam. I was charged $345.06
View full review
Loss:
$345

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: It’s a scam

Grabiela Tuj

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Ocala, Florida

Fraud

OfferUp - Fraud
OfferUp - Fraud - Image 2
OfferUp - Fraud - Image 3
I ordered a lawn mower on one of your ads. They charged me twice. The company doesnt even exist. It appears to be fraud. Want to resolve this immediately!
View full review

User's recommendation: Not recommended!

Jenn G Uhu

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

No customer service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
OfferUp - No customer service
I have been using their app for years. But any time there is any kind of issue they run AWAY and blame the customer! Plus they have NO customer service phone number or website services! So when theres crime it just HAPPENS and people get away with it! It is NOT OKAY. Dont use this app. Or website. Its all fraud and criminals.
View full review
Loss:
$75
Pros:
  • Its ok to sell items on
Cons:
  • People steal the item youre selling and dont pay for it

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Run away! FAST!

Jason H Yyu

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Will not respond to emails

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
OfferUp - Will not respond to emails
Looking for payment for the items I sold and shipped over a week ago. Have confirmation they were delivered. Instead of responding to my emails they just deleted my account. No response on why that happened either. Not sure what to do at this point. Im owed over 1100$ with little to no recourse.
View full review
Loss:
$1170
Cons:
  • Read above

Preferred solution: The money that I’m owed for the items that were sold.

User's recommendation: Avoid if shipping items.

Auctions and Marketplaces Expert Talks

How to Shop Online Safely | Online Shopping Tips

May 28, 2021

How safe is online shopping? Pissed Consumer interviewed Nathan Grant, a Senior Credit Industry Analyst with Credit Card Insider about safe online payments and how to avoid payment fraud. In this video, Nathan gives tips about online shopping, safety, and what to ensure when paying for products and services online.

Read full article
Nathan Grant
Nathan Grant

Nathan Grant, a Senior Credit Industry Analyst with Credit Card Insider. Nathan specializes in credit cards and online payments.

Kevin S Iwx

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

No help

OfferUp - No help
OfferUp - No help - Image 2
OfferUp - No help - Image 3
OfferUp - No help - Image 4
OfferUp - No help - Image 5
OfferUp - No help - Image 6
Give a person thats scamming people because theres no one to talk to on yawls end to take the site down order to listen to talk to me
View full review
Loss:
$350
Pros:
  • Easy navigate but nobody to talk to in offerup office
Cons:
  • No way to communicate

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: I guess I’m just going to have to go to law enforcement at this point

Antonio H Rev

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

I got scammed

OfferUp - I got scammed
OfferUp - I got scammed - Image 2
OfferUp - I got scammed - Image 3
OfferUp - I got scammed - Image 4
OfferUp - I got scammed - Image 5
OfferUp - I got scammed - Image 6
The necklace that I got is gold platted I sent 1300 Then the person trying to talking about. Im trying to scam them when I am the one who got scammed I asked for refund I took it to a jeweler. It is gold plated he says because it has a stamp on it its real clearly its not even worth 100 bucks.
View full review
Loss:
$131499

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Please do not deal with this person. He is a scam.

Aiyana Udt

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Bakersfield, California

You charged my card. And I have submitted a claim. You were wrong.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
OfferUp - You charged my card. And I have submitted a claim. You were wrong.
OfferUp - You charged my card. And I have submitted a claim. You were wrong. - Image 2
OfferUp - You charged my card. And I have submitted a claim. You were wrong. - Image 3
OfferUp - You charged my card. And I have submitted a claim. You were wrong. - Image 4
Offer up charged my card for a monthly membership of $19.99. I did not authorize it and I will be looking into this with my son who is a lawyer. I am very upset. I have submitted a claim to my financial agency. The company OfferUp cannot use my Apple ID card without my consent. In regards to the photos that I sent. OfferUp, ask you to enter your financial institution information to give you a five dollar refund.Unreal . Something's wrong here! I will figure out whats going on, and my son will proceed in court.
View full review

User's recommendation: Never

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article